We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best tailored experience on our website based on your preferences. You can read more about our cookie policy here

Professor Chris Lowe

OBE, FREng, FInstP, FRSC, Director of the Institute of Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Christopher R. Lowe is Director of the Institute of Biotechnology in the Department of Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology at the University of Cambridge. He is a Fellow of Trinity College, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Physics and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The principal focus of his biotechnology research programme over the last 35 years has been the healthcare biotechnology sector. The work is characterised by not only being highly inter- and multi-disciplinary and covering aspects of biochemistry, microbiology, chemistry, electrochemistry, physics, electronics, medicine and chemical engineering, but also covering the entire range from pure science to strategic applied science, some of which has significant commercial applications.

He has 345 publications, 8 books and monographs, >100 patents and has many collaborations worldwide, is an editorial board member of many academic journals, a member of research council, grant awarding and government committees, and is active in various legal and entrepreneurial roles. He has supervised >90 PhD students and won a number of national and international prizes.

The Institute has been awarded a “Queen’s Award for Technological Achievement” and a “Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education” and he the title of “Most Entrepreneurial Scientist of the UK”. He was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s New Year Honours and the title BBSRC Commercial Innovator of the Year in 2011.

He has been the driving force for the establishment of 10 spin-out companies, including ProMetic BioSciences Inc, Purely Proteins Ltd, Affinity Sensors Ltd, Cambridge Sensors Ltd, Ceroma Ltd, Smart Holograms Ltd, Psynova Neurotech Ltd, Paramata Ltd, Rebha Ltd and BioJo Ltd.

Other team Members

Dr Wen Hwa Lee

View profile

Yi Lei Tan

President - Innovation Forum Cambridge

View profile

Professor Eric Yeatman

View profile

Dr Rafal Zakrzewski

View profile

Vicky Butt

President - Innovation Forum London (KCL)

View profile